Go to main content

Panel Discussion on regional impacts of the Ukraine War

On 12.04.2022, the online panel on the impact of the Ukraine war on Moldova, Armenia and Georgia, jointly organised by the German Eastern Business Association and the German Economic Team, took place.

The event was divided into two panels, each of which was organised around a thematic leitmotif. The first panel focused on political issues. Hubert Knirsch, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Georgia, Viktor Richter, German Ambassador to Armenia, and Ulrich Kinne, Chargé d’Affairs at the German Embassy in Moldova, shared their views with the audience. Geopolitical crises always have economic effects as well, so the speakers addressed economic policy developments in addition to security, development and migration policy issues.

This perspective was taken up in the subsequent macroeconomic and economic policy panel. Dr Ricardo Giucci, Head of the German Economic Team and Managing Director of Berlin Economics, gave the input presentation on the overall macroeconomic situation in Moldova, Armenia and Georgia. It became clear that the countries are each affected differently, although all countries will feel the effects, most strongly in Moldova and Armenia. Moldova is also suffering from very high inflation.

Nevertheless, the crises and the associated realignment of trade routes and value chains also create opportunities for the countries. This was also pointed out by the participating representatives of business associations.

The audience had the opportunity to ask questions at the end of each panel.

The German Economic Team would like to thank the German Eastern Business Association for organising the event.

Zum Hauptinhalt

Panel-Diskussion zu regionalen Auswirkungen des Ukraine-Krieges

Am 12.04.2022 fand die gemeinsam vom Ost-Ausschuss der Deutschen Wirtschaft und dem German Economic Team organisierte Online-Veranstaltung zu den Auswirkungen des Ukraine-Krieges auf Moldau, Armenien und Georgien statt.

Die Veranstaltung wurde in zwei Panels aufgeteilt, die sich jeweils an einem thematischen Leitmotiv orientierten. Im ersten Panel standen zunächst politische Fragestellungen im Vordergrund. Hier teilten Hubert Knirsch, Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Georgien, Viktor Richter, deutscher Botschafter in Armenien sowie Ulrich Kinne, Chargé d‘Affairs an der deutschen Botschaft in Moldau, ihre Einschätzungen mit den Zuhörern. Geopolitische Krisen haben immer auch ökonomische Auswirkungen, sodass die Referenten neben sicherheits-, entwicklungs- und migrationspolitischen Themen auch wirtschaftspolitische Entwicklungen ansprachen.

Diese Perspektive wurde im anschließenden makroökonomischen und wirtschaftspolitischen Panel aufgegriffen. Hier hielt Dr. Ricardo Giucci, Leiter des German Economic Team und Geschäftsführer von Berlin Economics, das Inputreferat zur makroökonomischen Gesamtlage in Moldau, Armenien und Georgien. Dabei wurde deutlich, dass die Länder jeweils unterschiedlich betroffen sind, wenn auch alle Länder die Auswirkungen spüren werden, am stärksten in Moldau und Armenien. Moldau leidet darüber hinaus unter sehr hoher Inflation.

Dennoch zeitigen die Krisen und die damit verbundenen Neuausrichtung von Handelsrouten und Wertschöpfungsketten auch Chancen für die Länder. Hierauf wiesen auch die teilnehmenden Vertreter von Wirtschaftsverbänden hin.

Für die Zuhörer ergab sich jeweils am Ende der Panels die Gelegenheit, Fragen zu stellen.

Das German Economic Team dankt dem Ost-Ausschuss für die Organisation der Veranstaltung.